GIVE IT TIME . . . PERSEVERE . . . THIS JUST MAY BE A WORK OF GENIUS
I have received a few messages of very disappointed AR fans . . . they just don't get it. If I hadn't forced my way through the first six or so episodes I may have agreed. But . . . there was something there . . . something I couldn't quite put my finger on. So I wrote back saying persevere . . . I think it may be worth it. I'll get back to you.
OK. Here's the conclusion after Maeby's Arrested Development (episode 12 or 13?)
Whoever decided to go with this format just may be a genius. Or perhaps budgetary constraints have, for once, played a blinder. I have to say it puts me in mind, somewhat, of 'Soap'. Confused? You will be.
I think this format was hit upon because it will have been so much cheaper to make than a fully fledged series. By using the same conceit that Ayckbourne used for 'The Norman Conquests' it means that individual character stories do not require all actors on set for each episode. By telling the back - or forward - accompanying story, they can use footage already filmed to explain the developing story. Confused? You will be.
So I can understand if in the beginning you think crap and give up. However.
It's not crap you're seeing. You're confusing it with confusion. Did you see Inception? The amount of people who gave up cos it was difficult to understand. Some thought impenetrable? I loved it for the way it looked. I accidentally - long story - saw it again two days later and suddenly I understood what it was about and I loved it even more. This AR is going to be like that. Second time you are gonna be so all over what at the moment seems fragmented confusion. I can't wait to get to the end to start again. I have a suspicion that this is a series you'll be able to watch time after time and still spot something new.
It's gonna take perseverance and faith to get there but like all hard work, the rewards will be worth it. The analogy I would use is that of a new album by a favourite artist. They have changed tack. It's not so instantly accessible. First instinct is to dismiss. We all do it.
Now sometimes someone prevails upon you to just keep playing it because it is ultimately worth it. And damn me if sometimes you suddenly find it turns out to be a great album. It just needed the work. So, if each episode here is the playing of the album once, by the time you get to episode 8-9 you are suddenly getting the tunes. The lyrics start to hit home. The more you play it the more you get from it. It may not have been instantly accessible but boy now it is so rewarding.
And so, IMHO, this will too be the case with AR4. Keep at it. This just might be the classic we were hoping for.
Wednesday, 29 May 2013
Friday, 5 April 2013
THE MIMIC C4 WED 03/04 22.00
I suppose like many people I was initially put off investigating this because what good could come from watching a prog about a bloke doing impressions. I mean come on. Then I was warned by the Times not to be mislead. Oh go on, I'll record the first one just in case, and boy, am I glad I did.
The Mimic is a gentle, beaut of a show. @Terry Minot is a very skilled impersonator. He is however, an even better actor. His portrayal of the hapless loner Martin is warm, measured and IMHO one of the best light comedy performances this year will see. A strong supporting cast and strong production values make this the most underrated prog in ages.
Did I say great mimic? Well, the standards are almost right on the nose although there are some I need signposts for. But does that matter? Nah, the mimicry of the title is a misnomer (and the show has probably got lower viewing figures as a result, which is such a bloody shame).
I had a nightmare that Ricky Gervaise was directing this but, thank goodness, it's not, so, nightmares cease. (I really enjoyed the Life's Too Short special though mate). Perhaps my subconcious planted the Gervais seed because, like Extras, there is a 'will they, won't they' subplot. These are nice people. Dysfunctional to be sure. But hands up those that aint (not you ex-wife, not you).
I do worry that if this series gets recommissioned - and I so hope it does - the writer may be tempted to jump into the cold plunge pool of pathos (already worrying signs of that which I hope don't develop . . . to be fair at the moment they are being handled with a deft, sure touch) or the desire to introduce some 'bastards'. Resist and desist I cry.
Please check out The Mimic. If you like it recommend it to your friends. Gentle it is, mawkish it aint.
The Mimic is a gentle, beaut of a show. @Terry Minot is a very skilled impersonator. He is however, an even better actor. His portrayal of the hapless loner Martin is warm, measured and IMHO one of the best light comedy performances this year will see. A strong supporting cast and strong production values make this the most underrated prog in ages.
Did I say great mimic? Well, the standards are almost right on the nose although there are some I need signposts for. But does that matter? Nah, the mimicry of the title is a misnomer (and the show has probably got lower viewing figures as a result, which is such a bloody shame).
I had a nightmare that Ricky Gervaise was directing this but, thank goodness, it's not, so, nightmares cease. (I really enjoyed the Life's Too Short special though mate). Perhaps my subconcious planted the Gervais seed because, like Extras, there is a 'will they, won't they' subplot. These are nice people. Dysfunctional to be sure. But hands up those that aint (not you ex-wife, not you).
I do worry that if this series gets recommissioned - and I so hope it does - the writer may be tempted to jump into the cold plunge pool of pathos (already worrying signs of that which I hope don't develop . . . to be fair at the moment they are being handled with a deft, sure touch) or the desire to introduce some 'bastards'. Resist and desist I cry.
Please check out The Mimic. If you like it recommend it to your friends. Gentle it is, mawkish it aint.
How TV ruined your (love) Life
Beeb 2 Thurs 4/4/13 22.00
I didn't realise it until now but I think I may have lots of man love for @Charlie Brooker. I think he may be 'the one'. I mean how do you explain the mood that I woke with this morning - no change I know, but as usual, ugly, lonely and destined to die abandoned in a rat-infested hovel - when I go to last night's recording and discover that this weeks prog is all about love. I mean this episode even gave this blog it's title.
His script and delivery reaches parts of me that few do. Ok, so he's wordy, but boy do those words repay paying attention. Such was my desire to see the prog through to the end I ignored the acute pain that some of his observations caused me, and the my pavlovian response to this which was to run a warm bath and unleash one of @Gillette's finest.
It appears that I am not so different. Apparently I suffer just as ordinary mortals do and yet, as I absorb this, it reminds me that this is a programme that warns me of the peril of listening to what the TV is telling me. How can I believe you Charlie. Eh? EH?
Charlie then told me that there is a link between the amount of TV watched and a belief in relationship myths.( This is crucial information for someone with low self-esteem and suicical tendencies. I mean I have been advised that I write this blog as therapy cos 'you watch more TV than anyone I know'. Thanks chaps).
1. That love at first sight happens . . . tick;
2. There is a 'singular soul mate' out there for everyone . . . tick;
3. That we will develop a psychic bond with aforementioned soul mate . . . tick;
4. That we all look at every male/female presenter team and wondering if they are 'doing it' . . . umm . . . no tick . . . I think that may be just you Charlie.
The prog provides many 'guffaw' moments amongst which the chewing gum and love analogy was brill as was Charlie renaming my airline pilot mate 'Skycock'. He will be known as nothing else in future (although knowing him he'll love it).
But hold the front page. What's this? A sudden disaster. A @Sky News skit which goes on for far too long and is nowhere near the standard of the rest of the programme. Someone else write this this didn't they Charles. Did you say 'fuck it, it takes me hours to come up with my pithy monologue . . . you guys, come up with four minutes to fill the middle. Why Charlie, why? The flow of the prog comes to a dead halt. Consequently, it is difficult to give the benefit of the doubt to such safe targets as @Captain Kirk, @James Bond, @Blind Date. Lazy Charles, lazy. (Although I must urge you dear readers to search for the still from Star Trek where James is holding a ginormous penis).
The pace picks up again but frustratingly it should never have needed to. Men's sex faces was good, whilst the clip from @This Morning and their Sex Clinic - and Diana from Yorkshire's problem - is worth seeing the programme for alone. I'll even forgive his dissing of Jack and Vera (almost). Towards the end he is back on vitriolic top form - 'TV, the machine that wipes it's arse on you valentines' - although an obvious observatrion was missed during the clip from @'Breaking Up' - some shite that I'm sure my daughter's will have watched - where the departing boyfriend discusses with host Shannon just how to break up with his long-term girlfriend. The words may have been about the break-up but the boyfriends lust for sexy host Shannon meant he was hoping for the best post-relationship fuck ever.
Then, disappointingly, the "sky News' bollox reappears. Lazy Charlie, lazy. You need someone with talent if you are going to farm out 25% of the show. The Boy Band tosh at the end only confirmed the fact.
So, am I really in love? Nah. 100% commitment is needed to make this work fully Charlie or we'll just end up on the scapheap like everyone else. You're lazy Charlie, lazy. Shape up immediately.
PS Newsnight followed with Paxman opening with 'Reasons to be cheerful . . . the Korean nuclear annihilation didn't take place today'. Thanks for that Paxo. Thanks a lot. Think I'll run a bath.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)